Open vision bar

Wayne County Board of Education recognized along with board members across the state

2020 Board of Education Members

School Board Recognition Month

2020 School Board Members

Cutline (l-r standing:) 2020 Wayne County Board of Education Jarrod Criswell, Whitney Smith, and Larry Muse (l-r seated:) retiring Chairperson Donna Blevins and Vice Chairperson Melissa Upchurch 

     As Kentucky observes School Board Recognition Month in January, the Wayne County School District is joining in the celebration.

     Current board members Vice-Chairperson Melissa Upchurch, Larry Muse, Whitney Smith, Jarrod Criswell and incoming member Benton Sloan are among the more than 850 school board members in the state’s 171 local school districts being recognized this month for their service.

     This is the perfect time to thank school board members for serving in a role that has become increasingly complex, said Ronnie Holmes, president of the Kentucky School Boards Association and chairman of the Graves County school board.

     “Members of the Wayne County Board of Education are responsible for making decisions aimed at ensuring that every child in their district has a chance to be successful both in school and in life,” Holmes said. “To do that, members oversee a $22,361,477 budget, keep up with changing education laws and policies, and spend hours on professional learning and state-mandated training.”

     The voters in Wayne County have elected these local leaders, who work to give every child in every classroom access to high quality teaching and learning,” said Superintendent Wayne Roberts.

     “At a time when state and federal funding continues to shrink, our school board members haven’t flinched in the face of the challenges or shied away from their responsibilities,” he said. “Our community can be very proud of this team of board members, and I’m proud to be their partner in striving for education excellence for our children.”

     During the January 21st meeting, Board members Melissa Upchurch, Larry Muse and Benton Sloan will be sworn in to serve a four-year term. Retiring Board Chairperson Donna Blevins will also be recognized for her exceptional service to Wayne County Schools over 16 years. She has been an outstanding representative and advocate for Wayne County Schools. 

      The staff and students would like to thank the board and especially retiring Chairperson Donna Blevin for helping support the school district in a variety of projects and responsibilities. "She has contributed greatly, leading with grace and dignity to help our school district prosper," said Public Information Officer Linda Jones. "She has been there for so many events, listened to educators and staff, made important decisions, and contributed her time to help enhance the education of our children." 



Back to School News       Print