Open vision bar

Congrats to the WCHS FPS Team for their first place win at District Competition

Congrats to the WCHS FPS Team for their first place  win at District Competition

      In possibly the most difficult phase of academic team competition, the Wayne County High School Future Problem Solving Team achieved an impressive first place win against Southwestern High School and McCreary Central High School. The FPS Team members use critical thinking skills to solve a prompt as they brainstorm together to write a solution. The local team members included: Evan Taylor, Kadyn McFarland, Ridge Turpin, and Elijah Stinson.

      The FPS Team’s first place finish was particularly noteworthy because it was the first legitimate win they have experienced in the past ten years. Last year, Wayne County FPS placed first, however all of the participating schools tied for first place. 

      In Mathematics Written Assessment, Ethan Huffaker placed 3rd and Jabel Smith placed fifth. Jabel also placed fifth in Science Written Assessment. John Rains placed 2nd in Social Studies Written Assessment and Kadyn McFarland placed third.

     Emily Combs placed first in Language Arts Written Assessment. Elijah Stinson, Evan Taylor, and Samantha Criswell placed in Arts and Humanities Written Assessment. Emily Combs, Rachel Rains, and Alexis Dishman all placed in Written Composition.

    All of these students will advance to Regional competition which will be held in Berea. High School Region competition will start with FPS and Composition on Monday, February 10. The Quick Recall and Written Assessment will be on Saturday, February 15th. 

    The local team is coached by WCHS Teachers Jared Criswell and Dean Sumpter.


(l-r) Savannah Ramsey, Ridge Turpin, Ethan Huffaker, Alexis Dishman, Ethan Gregory, Elijah Stinson, Jabel Smith, Jacob Haynes, Evan Taylor, Emily Combs, Samantha Criswell, Kadyn McFarland, John Rains. Not pictured: Rachel Rains who placed in Composition.

Back to School News       Print