Open vision bar

Local Principal inducted into Kentucky Women in Education Leadership program

Local Principal inducted into Kentucky Women in Education Leadership program

            Wayne County Schools is proud to announce that Walker Early Learning Center Principal Angela Ballinger recently attended the Kentucky Association of School Administrators (KASA) 2020 cohort of the Kentucky Women in Education Leadership (KWEL) program. Ballinger was one of 33 exceptional women educators that were chosen through a competitive application process based on specific leadership criteria.

            Ballinger, a past president of the Kentucky Reading Association who is in her fifth year serving as the principal at Walker Early Learning Center, was amongst leaders from across the state, along with some of the state’s top female executive educators, as they convened on January 23-24. The induction ceremony and leadership forum was held in Louisville. 

        “As educators, we should strive to be life long learners,” said Walker Early Learning Center Principal Angela Ballinger. “I was granted an opportunity recently to continue to learn and grow as a leader through attending the KWEL conference.” 

        “On the first day we were asked if anyone came to mind when we think of the following leadership qualities: honest, forward-thinking and competent.  Immediately, I thought of several people who have encouraged me along the way. There have been many and I am thankful for each and every one of them. I am very grateful for their encouragement, and support,” stressed Ballinger.

        In the coming year, she will be mentored in leadership skills by Superintendent Taylora Schlosser from Marion County Schools. 

       “I am looking forward to learning and growing in my leadership abilities with her guidance.  This is a unique opportunity given to the KWEL inductees.  I am honored and humbled to be a KASA KWEL 2020 Cohort 3 inductee,” noted Ballinger.

        KWEL is designed for women working in P-12 public education who wish to advance their careers. KWEL members benefit from a support system, leadership development opportunities, career advancement, shared experiences through a network of on-going professional growth and development, coaching and mentoring, and reward and recognition for exemplary leaders. 

       “KWEL, in its third year, continues to redefine the future for women in public education,” said Dr. Rhonda Caldwell, KASA executive director. “This group of leaders will be instrumental in shaping our students’ futures while shining a new and brighter light on public education.” 

       The KWEL forum brings both experienced and aspiring leaders together for an extraordinary growth opportunity. Its purpose is three-fold. First, it will give women that are currently serving in an executive leadership role the opportunity to mentor other women aspiring to lead at the same level. Second, it will support women that aspire to lead but may need the confidence, courage and support to take the next step. Finally, this network can give all women serving in an executive leadership role an additional support system unique to the needs of women and the challenges they face. Registration for the forum is open at (Leadership Development tab).


The 2020 inductees are:

  1. Angie Akers, Marion Co.
  2. Jill Angelucci, Clark Co.
  3. Tiffany Austin, Paintsville Ind.
  4. Angela Ballinger, Wayne Co.
  5. Rebecca Blakley, McCreary Co.
  6. Sara Brady, Marion Co.
  7. Lou Carter, Murray Ind.
  8. Sarah Elam Farrow, Montgomery Co.
  9. LeAnn Fisher, Simpson Co.
  10. Stephanie Hagerty, Boone Co.
  11. Jenny Lynn Varner Hatter, Ed.S., Harrison Co.
  12. Susan Jacobs, Clark Co.
  13. Martha Jones, Ed.D., Woodford Co.
  14. Holly Lawson, Montgomery Co.
  15. Lesley Lawson, Garrard Co.
  16. Vicki Lete, Jefferson Co.
  17. Jennifer Luttrell, Hopkins Co.
  18. Tiffany Marshall, Ph.D., Jefferson Co.
  19. Karla McCarty, Ed.D., Paintsville Ind.
  20. Jennifer Muncy, Ed.D., Madison Co.
  21. Contessa Orr, Logan Co.
  22. Amber Parker, Ballard Co.
  23. Jessica Pass, Boone Co.
  24. Beth Peterson, Jefferson Co.
  25. Anna Prince, Lawrence Co.
  26. Jaclyn Reid, Marshall Co.
  27. Sheri Satterly, Danville Ind.
  28. Jennifer Sellers, Fayette Co.
  29. Amy Smith, Hopkins Co.
  30. Karen Ward, LaRue Co.
  31. Carrie Wedding, Owensboro Ind.
  32. Alison Wright, Fayette Co.
  33. Whitney York, Murray In

angela and mentor

Walker Early Learning Center Principal Angela Ballinger and Mentor Taylora Schlosser, Superintendent of Marion County School District  

angela at induction

Angela Ballinger receiving a pin representing the organization from Nannette Johnston, KWEL Steering Committee Program Director

angela receiving certificate

Angela Ballinger being presented a certificate from her mentor

five ladies

(l-r): Lewis County Central Elementary Principal Stacy Kidwell, Marion County School District Principal Taylora Schlosser, Pine Knot Elementary Principal Rebecca Blakely, Barbourville Independent School District Principal Kay Dixon, and Walker Early Learning Center Principal Angela Ballinger showed off their sleeves with the Kentucky Women in Education Leadership program signage.

group photo

Group photo of 33 inductees for 2020 

Back to School News       Print