Open vision bar

Wayne County School Board honored this month

Board of Education Members

Board Meeting

Wayne County Board of Education members: (seated l-r:) Chairperson Donna Blevins, Vice-Chairperson Melissa Upchurch
(standing l-r:) Jarrod Criswell, Whitney Smith, and Larry Muse

(Jan. 2020) – As Kentucky observes School Board Recognition Month in January, the Wayne County
School District is joining in the celebration.
Wayne County Board Members Donna Blevins, Melissa Upchurch, Larry Muse, Whitney Smith, and
Jarrod Criswell are among the more than 850 school board members in the state’s 173 local school
districts being recognized this month for their service.
This is the perfect time to thank school board members for serving in a role that has become
increasingly complex, said David Webster, president of the Kentucky School Boards Association and
chairman of the Simpson County school board.
“Members of the Wayne County Board of Education are responsible for making decisions aimed at
ensuring that every child in their district has a chance to be successful both in school and in life,”
Webster said. “To do that, members oversee a $21,778,263 general fund budget, keeping up with
changing education laws and policies and spend hours on professional learning and state-mandated
The voters in Wayne County have elected these local leaders, who work to give every child in every
classroom access to high quality teaching and learning,” said Wayne County Superintendent Wayne
“At a time when state and federal funding continue to shrink, our school board members haven’t
flinched in the face of the challenges or shied away from their responsibilities,” he said. “Our community
can be very proud of this team of board members, and I’m proud to be their partner in striving for
education excellence for our children.”
Also, during January, please use social media to share your appreciation of school board members by
using the hashtag #LoveKySchoolBoards.

Back to School News       Print